2 Best Ways to Delete Configuration Profiles in Intune

Let’s see how to delete Configuration Profiles in Intune. If you don’t need a device configuration profile in Intune, you can delete it with few easy steps.

There are two ways to delete Intune Configuration Profiles and I will cover both the methods in this post. You should have access to Microsoft endpoint admin center to delete device configuration profiles.

Device profiles in Intune allow you to add and configure settings, and then push these settings to devices in your organization.

Microsoft Intune includes settings and features that you can enable or disable on different devices within your organization. You can create device configuration profiles for different devices and platforms and use Intune to apply or assign the profile to the devices.

Before you delete a configuration profile from Intune, you can first export Intune Device Configuration Profiles to a .CSV file. You can review each device profile and decide whether you want to keep it or delete it.

Why delete Device Profiles in Intune?

If the device profiles are so important, then what is the need to delete these configuration profiles? The answer is: You may have several device configuration profiles existing in Intune which are not deployed or in use, you can safely delete those device profiles that aren’t required.

Sometimes Intune admins create Configuration profiles, use Settings Catalog to define settings and assign the profile to test devices. After the testing is complete, the device profile remains in Intune without any use.

Another example is Intune admins duplicate the settings catalog profile to make a copy of existing policy and forget to delete the duplicate profile. The device profiles clean-up is required to avoid confusion between Intune admins on profiles.

Caution: When you delete a configuration profile from Intune, you cannot recover it back. So be careful before you delete Intune configuration profiles.

How to Delete Configuration Profiles in Intune

The steps to delete Configuration Profiles in Intune are as follows:

  • Sign in to the Microsoft Endpoint Admin Center.
  • Click Devices > Windows > Configuration Profiles.
  • Use the search option to look for the Device Profile that you want to delete.
  • Click the three horizontal dots next to profile and select Delete.
Delete Configuration Profiles in Intune
Delete Configuration Profiles in Intune

When asked Are you sure? This will delete the selected profile, click OK to delete the configuration profile.

The configuration profile is now deleted. Surprisingly, there is no notification about the profile deletion, and it all happens in the background.

Delete Configuration Profiles in Intune
Delete Configuration Profiles in Intune

There is another way to delete a configuration profile in Intune and this is more safe method than previous one. In this method, you select the Configuration profile from the list, review the settings and then delete it.

For example, in the below screenshot, I am going to select the configuration profile – Restrict Access to Task Manager.

Delete Intune Configuration Profile
Delete Intune Configuration Profile

When you select a configuration profile, you can view the profile deployment report, device assignment status, per setting status. Before you delete the device profile, you may also go to the profile properties and view the profile settings.

Just below the configuration profile name, click the Delete option and confirm the profile deletion by clicking OK.

Delete Intune Configuration Profile
Delete Intune Configuration Profile

Leave a Comment